How to Build Gunpla Part 1 – Cutting Parts Off The Sprue and Removing Nubs

I love Gundam, and if you’ve read any of my other posts, you’ll probably already know. I really love Gunpla as well, and I would like to share with everyone how to build Gunpla. Keep in mind, I’m a beginner as well, and I just snap-build my models, so I’m only able to show you the basics of Gunpla building. Still, I hope I will be able to help you start building and enjoying Gunpla.

IMG_2877

Tools

Must-have:

– Plastic Nippers

– Hobby Knife

– Gundam Markers (Grey and Black)

– Cotton bud and toothpick

Optional:

– Tweezers

– Gundam Markers

IMG_2892

First of all, you have to find the parts to assemble. The parts are all molded on a singular plastic piece called a sprue or runner. It’s sometimes also called a plate. In the manual, it indicates which plate and which number the part is located. For example, the part we need is C26 at the top.

IMG_2893

You find the C Plate, and find part number 26.

IMG_2895

Using the plastic nippers, cut off the part from the gate. The gate is where the sprue connects to the part. There are three in this case. When you cut it off, be sure to leave the thin part of the gate on the part. This is known as a nub and it makes the part easier to clean up.

IMG_2897

Then just pull the part off.

IMG_2903

Use a hobby knife to clean up the nub. Try to shave in a forwards direction.

IMG_2898

If it’s not completely cleaned off, gently shave it backwards.

IMG_2906

For me personally, when I put the blade forward to remove the nub, I sometimes try to curve upwards as I clean up the part so that I don’t cut myself. I have done that twice on a single model kit, so now I’m more cautious when I’m cleaning up parts.

IMG_2907

This is especially important when you’ve trimming backwards, as it’s much easier to apply too much force and injure yourself.

IMG_2916.JPG

Sometimes, there are very small parts like this.

IMG_2915 (2)

It’s difficult to clean up a part as small as this, so in that case, I just use the plastic nippers to cut off the nubs.

IMG_2919

Follow the instructions, clean up the nubs, and assemble the parts. Eventually, you will have a completed piece like this.


Leave a comment